Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: newbie question

i run a custom computer shop in arizona and would like to offer my customers a alternative to windows and the only thing to me worth looking at is linux so here's the ?, which one should i offer for absolute total newbie customers used to windows(ugg):smokin:

Well I would recommend Redhat because of their (almost) total-support options and their package management system is rather good although some people do experience problems when trying to compile their own programs.
    Okay my 2 cents now going back to the corner

At this point I would have to recomend Mandrake linux for a newbie distro, RedHat is more a server/corperate product. You can get a brief rundown on most distro's at DistroWatch.

OK here's my 2 cents to add to the kitty.

In so much as which distribution is better or easier I truly have no idea or opinion.

But I will say that in my ventures around the www that Mandrake and Redhat are by far the most widely documented.
    That's got to be a real asset to someone venturing into open source for the first time.
    The reason a diamond shines so brightly is because it has many facets which reflect light.

Gernal consencous around the digs is that Mandrake is the best newbie Linux distro. :smokin:
    <center>:cheers:</center>

I've got Mandrake 8.2 installed and runs pretty good. I tried Red Hat 7.2 and had issues with getting it to get started. Perhaps me.. but that should say something. I also have Redmond Linux, which is getting upgraded to Lycoris/LX after next tuesday at the KLUG (Kalamazoo Linux Users Group). From what I've seen of Lycoris, it might be the best bet for newbies that are windows oriented.. sure looks and feels like Windows anyway. It not as feature rich as Mandrake, but if your skilled (me??) you can certainly add to it with the accomp. CDs included.