Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: My Asus p4p800 won't boot with my new P4 3.0e

Exclamation My Asus p4p800 won't boot with my new P4 3.0e

I have a asus p4p800 deluxe I was running p4 2.4 533mhz I updated the BIOS and ran a p4 2.8 533mhz HT. I trying to put a P4 3.0e 800mhz 1M cache. I read the other posts about reseting the BIOS. I moved a jumper on the RTC RAM jumper to reset it. I also removed the CMOS batterie. After this none of my processors work the 2.4, 2.8, or 3.0. Does any one have any ideas? So my desktop is down and I am using my laptop to write this.

Default Re: My Asus p4p800 won't boot with my new P4 3.0e

I'm not an expert here, but the P4E on the socket 478 runs extremely hot, and many people underestimated the cooling necessary for this unexpected heater of a processor. Especially considering you went from the earlier 533 MHz version of the P4. I don't know if this relates to your problem, but a relevant comment I wanted to add.

Exclamation Re: My Asus p4C800 won't boot with my new P4 3.0e

I want to clarify I have a asus p4C800 deluxe and I am running a zalman cooler on it. I have been reading other post and the main solution seems to be a CMOS reset or a BIOS flash but since the computer won't work I need to know how to do this by floppy or CD. Any suggestions would help.

Quote Originally Posted by kd132001
    I have a asus p4p800 deluxe I was running p4 2.4 533mhz I updated the BIOS and ran a p4 2.8 533mhz HT. I trying to put a P4 3.0e 800mhz 1M cache. I read the other posts about reseting the BIOS. I moved a jumper on the RTC RAM jumper to reset it. I also removed the CMOS batterie. After this none of my processors work the 2.4, 2.8, or 3.0. Does any one have any ideas? So my desktop is down and I am using my laptop to write this.
    Later you say it P4C800 Deluxe so we will work from there: