Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Question

I just bought the xp 2400+ and i am interested in buying the abit KX7-333 motherboard. Now is anybody here using this combination? if its so, do i need to update the bios or i don't have to?

Thanks in advance

Btw i have a copper cooler master cpu fan for the 2400+

Unless it has the latest BIOS revision already installed (doubtful), you will need to Flash the BIOS. It was originally designed to handle up to a 2100+ processor, but the latest revision (kx7b6) supports 2400+ and 2600+ processors. Here is the address with the download and information about the update:
    http://fae.abit.com.tw/eng/download/bios/kx7.htm

I don't use the combination that you are looking at, but I do have this motherboard at the moment and have had no issues with either compatability or stability with anything that I've thrown at it. :)
    Old age and treachery will overcome youth and skill
    My Toys

Thanks darthanion for your answer.

I have used abit mobo's before. I hope when i buy my mobo it has the bios updated

Glad to be of help. But as for your mainboard having the most recent BIOS, I wouldn't count on it. Of course, Abit has a pretty straightforward Flash utility and it is a simple matter to update, so it shouldn't be much of a problem regardless what BIOS comes with the board. :)
    My Toys

darthanion,

mhh i have never flash a bios, abit has a step by step guide of how to do it, is there any risk of screwing the mobo? or is it pretty safe to do it?

Thanks again