Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: how to tell....

I am kinda new to this hardware stuff. I have done some of the more simple things, adding new cards.... that kind of thing. I have added a new sound card and a dvd drive. I think my pentium II 266 is really to slow to operate the dvd in any acceptable manner. So, I have entertained the thought of upgrading my processor and motherboard. So, my question is this: how can I tell if I must do both? Can I get away with just upgrading the processor without the motherboard? I bought my tower from a store everything in it is non proprietary so I can't tell who the motherboard is made by, is there a way to tell this? My bios version is V4.51PG, I am assume I must upgrade this as well. Any ideas? Help? Things I should know before I undertake this step? Places that I can go to learn more about this? Thanks for all replies.

KC

Beefy Guest

It all depends on what you want to upgrade to. If you were to go out and buy some new parts, then you'd need to get both, and probably new RAM and possibly even a new case.... Or, you could hunt around for an old Pentium II (possibly find a PII 450 - 500).. but that's not much of an upgrade now, is it? :)

Ok, I don't have a lot of ram, one 64K and one 128K SDRAM. So that is not a problem. Why would I need a new case? (only thing I can think of is possibly screw placement.) Cases are not that expensive so that isn't really a problem. (I guess.) I don't have a lot of extra stuff in what I have but most is new. (network card 10/100, tkd velocd writer, buslink dvd reader, sound blaster 5.1, and then the old mother board, processor and video card(don't know what that is either). I don't think just buying a complete new system is worth the money. So now that I have replaced most of the inside I might as well continue. Is replacing the MB and the processor hard to do?

KC