Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Inquiring OC Noob

Hi all, I'm just beginning to learn about the overclocking world and have read a few beginner guides and what not, along with doing some "forum browsing" here and at other places as well. The computer I would like to start working on is a Dell 4550, P4 2.53ghz 533mhz FSB with the Intel 845PE chipset. So far, it seems like my OC dreams are likely limited to say the least, if even possible.

At the time of purchasing I didn't realize the machines were so crippled or I would have done things diffferent....isn't hindsight always 20/20?

My question is, aside from the brickwalls I have already hit, does anyone know if there are any possible OC mods I can perform on this machine. It seems like there would be a way to reverse engineer anything. So my deepest apologies for what has to be like playing a broken record, but any help you can provide is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    LogixRat
    :)

If ya willin' to do some homework then google for a program called SoftFSB as it maybe the only chance that ya have short of scrappin' the mobo and PSU plus possibally the case as well.

You know I recently talked my Dad out of buying a Dell for his business. Not that I felt they were junk but because I knew I could build him something for less money or at least the same money and I love to build computers! :D

I went out and got him an ASUS A7N8X and an AMD Athlon 2400+ along with some Samsung PC2700 RAM (512MB) and a nice fast ATA hard drive and threw it all into a cool looking case with a cute little glowing fan on the side and a window! :D