Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Overclocking Barton 2600+ with Abit AN7 nForce2

I have recently ordered a system upgrade and am planning to overclock my AMD Barton 2600+ so that it performs like a 2800+. I am kinda new at overclocking and would greatly appreciate if someone could answer a couple of questions

- Can I overclock the Barton 2600+ simply by changing the multiplier factor in the BIOS? If I can, do I set it to 200x10.4 so that it reaches the Barton 2800+'s 2.08GHz frequency?

- If I overclock to 2800 do I need to change the CPU fan and Heatsink that come with the retail 2600+, or can the 5 System fans keep the CPU cool enough?

- The advertised timings for my memory are 2-3-2-6 but I am not sure if those settings are for a 166MHz Bus or 200MHz Bus? What is a faster but stable FSB/DRAM ratio setting for this type of memory? I just want to make the memory run slightly faster without pushing it too far.

-Do I need to change any of the voltage settings CPU, DDR?

- I have a budget 400W power supply, and am worried the voltages will fluctuate too much and cause problems. Should I get a better PSU, and how do I know if the one I have definitely needs to be changed?

Thanks in advance!

My system:
    -AMD Barton 2600+
    -ABIT AN7 Motherboard nForce2
    -ATI 9500 Pro
    -1x512MB Kingston HyperX DDR PC-3200
    -400W PSU
    -120GB WD SATA HDD
    -Plextor 708A DVD+/-RW
    -Liteon 32x12x40x CDRW
    -Nexus Fan Controller in 3.5" bay
    -Aspire TM2000 X-Pider thermal monitor/USB&Firewire ports 5.25"
    -5 Cooler Master Case Fans
    -Win XP Pro