Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: xp1700 overclockin g question

hi guys, i am kinda new to this OC'ing, but am very curious.
    i have succesfully unlock my xp 1700 multiplier (using the hispeedpc unlocking kit) and running at 12x 137 = 1644mhz on msi6380(kt266a) mobo with tt volcano 9 hsf stable. My question is, why I cant lower my multiplier and raise my fsb instead of the other way around. When I lowered it my system would lock up and have to reset the cmos. It is my understanding that I would get better performance in the game that i play (RTCW) if i have a lower multiplier and higher fsb combination for overclocking. The weird thing is that i have higher FPS rate at 11x142 (1562mHz) rather than at 12x137 (1644mHz) :shrug:
    Any ideas anyone?
    Thanks;

-hyperave aka mP40 of Operation Psycho Patrol

xp1700@1.6ghz
    msi6380(kt266a)
    geil pc3200 512mb
    radeon 9700pro

It's the limitations of the old VIA KT266A chipset. There are no AGP/PCI dividers above 133MHz for it and as that old chipset uses the PCI bus for the north and south bridges to communicate those dividers are a must (the higher the FSB the more unstable the AGP/PCI buses become) unlike modern chipsets which use a dedicated communications link between those bridges thus the AGP/PCI buses can be isolated/locked (the KT333 does have the 166MHz dividers though).

ahhh... i figured that the old chipset would be the culprit.
    So in your opinion how much can push this old cpu? I am getting
    a new mobo Abit NF7-S ver. 2 with a stick of corsair xms 512mb pc3200, what would be better to do? lower my multiplier and raise the fsb or the other way around?
    Anyways thanks for ur reply

-hyperave aka mP 40 of Operation Psycho Patrol