Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is it safe?

Default Is it safe?

I've talked with my friends about possibly overclocking my Athlon XP 2400+, and most of them think it's a horrible idea and that I'll burn up my processor. I was planning on buying a Volcano 7+ fan to replace my inadequate retail fan. I'm very new to this, and I was planning on following the guides extremely well to make sure I don't screw up.

Is it fairly safe?

Default Re: Is it safe?

Yes. You can overclock even on stock cooling. Depending on the speed of your RAM, you may be more limited by the RAM than the processor. It will certainly help to replace it with a good cooler and use Arctic Silver 5 as the thermal compound, though.

Well, I have 512MB of DDR RAM, but I don't know any more than that, unfortunately.

How much do you think I could overclock it on stock cooling, and how much on a new fan?

Download CPU-Z and tell me what speed it says your RAM is (not what speed it is running at, but what speed it's rated for, such as PC3200). I can't tell you for sure how far you can overclock it, but if the RAM is faster than the processor's FSB, you could get quite far.

Unfortunately, it doesn't show anything but 512 MB for my RAM.

I have the same question how far can i overclock my AMD Athlon 2000+. Right now i am running at 1.666.7 MHz and my muiltiplyer is 12.5 with a FSB speed of 133.3 MHz. My ram is PC2700.

How far can i overclock or is it not safe for my comp?

Thanks for the help, semi new to overclocking and comp modification in general.

Edit:And is it better to raise the muiltiplier or the FSB speed on AMD's
    Last edited by Cap.Jay; 09-19-2004 at 10:06 AM.

RAM is PC2100.