Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: OCing, XP 3200+, NF7-S, PQI PC3200 2-2-2-5 ram

Default OCing, XP 3200+, NF7-S, PQI PC3200 2-2-2-5 ram

I'm new to overclocking and would like to poll the board for some tips n tricks. Planning to bump up the FSB to ~220 and will probably have to increase Vcore and Vdimm. I understand the multiplier is locked unless I want to do an L1 mod, but will not really give me much additional performance and most likely not worth the risk of doing a chip mod.

Most of the threads are referring to the 166 FSB Barton chips. Anything to look out for on the 200 Mhz chips? I would expect more heat, but how much? Will I be able to get to 220 with a Thermaltake Silent Boost?

I am also looking for a mid range graphics card that I can OC and have an ATI AIW 128 card in an old box. I like the TV-in feature and dual monitor support. .... so do I go with a AIW 9600 XT, or a Gforce 5600 + TV PCI card?

Last question is about my memory selection. I went with the PQI 3200 2-2-2-5 DDR ram after reading a great review. Anyone have experince with this ram?

Thanks, John
    NewEngland John

Go Sox...

Default Re: OCing, XP 3200+, NF7-S, PQI PC3200 2-2-2-5 ram

You sohuld have gone with the Mobile. It's cheaper and will overclock further. The 3200 is a waste of money. On second thought, it's a huge waste of money. There are much better options in socket 754 and socket 478.

Your overclock will vary. You sohuld have a good HSF and Arctic Silver 5. I'd say you could easily get past 220, although there is a wire mod (a fairly safe one that isn't permanent) that may be required to get anything close to stability.