Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Overclocking Virgin

Default Overclocking Virgin

I have just bought a new PC to replace a battered old machine i bought far too long ago.
    Specs @
    AMD 64 3000+
    512 ddr
    80 gig hdd
    geforce fx 5200

On using SiSandra, the mainboard came out as ASUSTeK Computer INC. Diablo. Dunno if this helps. Im guessing you read the topic name and already realised i am an overclocking noob as it were. I was hoping to overclock both the gfx card and the cpu as i have read articles on both and found out they are likely candidates for some pushin :P I know the very basics of overclocking but have never tried it (very VERY basics). I can overclock my gfx card already but didnt want to venture into it and find myself melting everything :S It is an OEM machine btw; compaq. Can anyone give me some tips on cooling or general safety ?

Default Re: Overclocking Virgin

I'd say you can't overclock, but maybe you can. Most Asus board are pretty good overclockers, but you'll probably need to update the BIOS as it's likely Compaq has placed its own BIOS.

You can add case fans, replace the CPU's heat sink, and replace the thermal compound and the CPU's heat sink and the GPU's heat sink to improve cooling. All three are fairly cheap and will help quite a lot. At the same time, overclocking isn't really going to fix all of your problems. Your video card is so ancient that if you want to play any highly-graphical games you'll want to simply replace it. Overclocking will help performance a lot as it is, but you'll deisre much better performance.