Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: How much is enough?

Default How much is enough?

Hi all,

I'm quite new to overclocking, I hope I can get some help here :). I overclocked my Intel P4 2.0Ghz to 2674Mhz. I overclock using BIOS, I set the fsb from 100 up to 133Mhz n the DRAM matches at 266Mhz (1:1). The temp shows about the same before and after, around 45-50 when quite idle and 50-60 during game. I've downloaded SiSoftware Sandra, my mainboard info shows

System
    Manufacturer : MSI
    Model : MS-6547
    Version : 2.00

Chipset 1
    Model : Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS645 CPU to PCI Bridge
    Bus(es) : ISA AGP PCI USB i2c/SMBus
    Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 134MHz (536MHz data rate)
    Maximum FSB Speed / Max Memory Speed : 4x 133MHz / 2x 166MHz
    Width : 64-bit
    IO Queue Depth : 8 request(s)
    Priority Master Queue Depth : 7 request(s)

Memory Module(s)
    Memory Module 1 : Kingston KVR266X64C25256 022C37F2 256MB 8x(32Mx8) DDR-SDRAM PC2100U-2533-750 (CL2.5 up to 133MHz) (CL2 up to 100MHz)

So it says max fsb is 133Mhz and I've also set at it. I wonder if can I go more than that? Will my PC2100 DDR-SDRAM cope with it? And do you recommend me to change any settings?

Thanks.

Default Re: How much is enough?

You can always try going higher, just go in small steps to see how far your system will let you go. The memory will probably make it a good deal higher (most PC2100 modules can overclock), but that isn't a guarantee. All memory is not created equally, so you just have to try it and see first hand.