Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: System performance isn't what it should be. Help please...

Question System performance isn't what it should be. Help please...

Hello, everyone. This is my first post here.

I'm a veteran computer builder and have been maintaining my own sysytem for years. I hear more and more of people overclocking, but then also I read all over how bad it can be. It sounds like there's soooo many variables to work with and am a bit scared to ruin anything.

I had to remove a bad RAM chip yesterday and am waiting on some in the mail. Previously I had 1 gig RAM installed (PC2700 333). I was able to get right away 2x 256meg DDR400 RAM chips and replace those from the other old ones that were in there. Now I don't know how much a of a difference I am supposed to see, but it seems like with 512megs of RAM my system is really underperforming and I don't know why it's so significantly lower in speed of loading things.

Let me give you an outline of my current system. Maybe you can help:

-AMD 64 Athlon 3200+ (didn't catch what type of core it has, but it's under 1 month old bought from a local retailer in box, any books it's show or just on the chip?)
    - CPU runs at 1.5500v and 31 degrees Celcius @ 2.01ghz, System at 33 degrees Celcius; CPU has standard cooling heatsink equipped
    -Asus A8N-SLI Premium motherboard
    -Asus Extreme AX700-x PCI Express 128DDR x16 Video Card
    -2x 256mb DDR 400 ram
    -Thermal Lake 430w Power supply
    -RAID 0 with a 120gig and 160gig SATA Seagate (running as dual 120gig obviously)
    -additional mobile dock 120gig WD UDMA HD
    -another additional mobile dock 120gig WD UDMA HD
    -80 gig Seagate UDMA Drive
    -Emprex DVD+-RW Writer drive

Using the Nvidia Firewall and onboard audio capabilities as well.