Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Overclock/underclock

Post Overclock/underclock

Hello, im new to the overclocking community as i've just built my first computer =D

I have a few questions about overclocking, and, if my computers underclocked.

My computer includes;
    Ep45 UD3P Gigabyte motherboard
    Q6600 CPU
    CNPS7500 LED Zalman cpu fan.
    XFX Nvidia 9800gt
    Antec 900 (Thought this would have some relevance to cooling)
    and 4gb, of patriot viper ddr2 RAM.

My first question is about the ram, the programs i have show me that its running at 400mhz, but on the advertised box, and website it says 800mhz.
    I'd like to change it to the 800 its supposed to be pushing, or possible more if thats within my range of abilities.
    Link of proof:
    http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...x4owns/mem.jpg

My next question is wether or not id notice, or benefit from overclocking to 3.0ghz, or more, im open to suggestion and criticism. My query as to weather this is underclocked is cpu-z and real temp show my cpu as clocked at 1600hz, as far as i know i thought it was 2400...?
    image:
    http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...x4owns/cpu.jpg

Im dedicated to my computers safety, but am willing to spend the time tweaking voltages, as i've read this is involved!

Thanks to anyone who can offer advice, and share their experience with me!

Chucko is offline Member

Default Re: Overclock/underclock

CPU-Z is showing the actual memory clock. This is Dual Data Rate (DDR) RAM so the effective rate is 2x the actual clock, or 800MHz.

The 1600MHz CPU clock is an indication that you have EIST (SpeedStep) enabled. This sets the CPU clock multiplier to its minimum value 6x under light load.

So, you are actually clocked at stock speeds.