Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Overclock Q6700 with GA-X48_DS5 Socket 775

Question Overclock Q6700 with GA-X48_DS5 Socket 775

First off thank you to anyone that can lend me a hand in this. I am very new to all this. I have this chip for sometime now and though I would have a go at overclocking.
    My System specs are as fallowed:

Case: Cooler Master HAF 932
    Mobo: GA-X48-DS5
    Chip: Q6700 @ 2.66 Quad Core
    CPU Cooler: COOLER MASTER V6 GT (Just picked this up to overclock)
    PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W
    RAM: CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit
    (Cas Latency = 5, Timing = 5-5-5-15-2T, Voltage = 2.1V)

Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 560 Superclocked + 55MHz on GPU, 2 GB DDR5 Memory. (When the card drops in price will prob get one more for SLI)

Now my question is does anyone know a good starting point for me with in the Bios. I have read a few things but most deal with a water cooled system. Has anyone had any success in overclocking with this MOBO and Chip and what specs did you change and use. I have read that people are getting around 3.2 or higher. My main goal is to boost my whole system up to be stable and happy, since right now I can't afford to build a whole new system.

Any help would be most appreciated in my new Overclocking journey. I hope I have provided enough information on my system. Most searching I have seen involves the Q6600 and the DS4 Mobo. Not sure if we have a huge difference here.

Thanks again for your time and I look forward to learning more about Overclocking and Computers. Maybe next on the list will be a Liquid Cooled System and a nice unlocked i7.

Jay

Chike is offline Senior Member

Default Re: Overclock Q6700 with GA-X48_DS5 Socket 775