Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Theoretical build good for overclocking? [Xeon X5460]

LivingNexus is offline Junior Member

Default Theoretical build good for overclocking? [Xeon X5460]

I'm new to overclocking but I've looked through a few threads here and this seems like the place to ask about a theoretical build I'm putting together based on parts I could find cheaply on eBay based around the Xeon X5460. Since I doubt you could build an i3 system for less than $350 I went with the Xeon as it has four cores and can be overclocked. Since my intention is for this to be a gaming rig, my plan is to try and find a GTX 650 Ti Boost as that's the cheapest card that can still output 1080p at decent settings.

Mainly I'm hoping someone can briefly look this over and tell me if I missed anything and whether or not this build will work. I've done a bit of internet research but I always keep thinking of new things to double-check and therefore the build keeps changing. I want to settle on a complete build before I buy anything, so any help that gets me closer to that is appreciated. I tried to keep the cost as low as possible with just the essentials. I also have my mom's old eMachines junker that I could probably pull the CD Drive and case fans out of, as well as the stock CPU fan if I need to until I can get a decent one to really start overclocking. If I need to I can also use the case, but I would prefer something with more modern cooling sensibilities.

Type Item Price
    CPU Intel Xeon X5460 SLBBA 3.16 GHz $40 @ eBay
    CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper TX3 $18 @ Amazon
    Custom Part Intel CPU Socket LGA-771/775 Adapter Mod Sticker $2 @ eBay
    Motherboard ASUS P5Q TURBO $72 @ eBay
    Memory Samsung 2x4GB DDR2 800Mhz $24 @ eBay
    Storage Patriot Blaze 2.5" 60GB SATA III SSD
    $40 @ eBay
    Video Card GTX 650ti Boost $70