Dual booting separate hard drives

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dual booting separate hard drives

I'm a newbie at Linux but trying to learn .... anyway I'm not really sure if what I want to do is possible but thought I'd ask. Here is the plan ... and the problem: I have downloaded the latest version of Mandrake and am in the process of buring the ISOs. What I want to do is remove my primary hard drive and replace it with a different one then copy Mandrake to it then put my XP hard drive back in the system. (thereby removing any chance of accidentaly formatting the XP disk or affecting it in any way). What is the best way to configure my system to dual boot after doing this? I have been told that if I put each hard drive on separate IDE channels and then manually switch access in bios that I should be able to switch my OS startup. (Sounds like a bit of an annoyance). My idea is to find a boot disk (floppy?) solution that will give me the option as to which drive to boot from (or direct boot to drive "D" when used) ... is this possible or feasible? Suggestions???
    Antec 900 case (4 120mm and 1 200mm lighted fans + UFO flashing light set + 2 12" and 1 6" Mutant Mods meteor lights) - Aerogate ll thermal controller - Asus M2N-e SLI - AMD 64 X2 AM2 6400+ - Corsair TX650 PSU - MSI 450GTS Cyclone OC - 2 X 2GB Patriot Extreme Performance PC2 6400 RAM - SATA 320 GB Seagate HD, SATA 300GB Maxtor HD and IDE 80 GB Samsung HD - Floppy Drive/Card Reader Combo - LG SuperMulti Lightscribe 18x DVD RW - Plextor PX-716A DVD r/rw - Windows 7 Home Premium 64

Crude but Effective ... it is a way of life.

You could just remove the IDE connector from the drive you aren't wanting to boot from, change the boot sequence in bios, or just disable the hard drive you don't want to boot from in the Bios.

Comment

why do you want to remove the XP HD at the time of install?