No announcement yet.

I know this is a dumb question, but....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I know this is a dumb question, but....

Like I said, I know this is a dumb question, but it just keeps nagging me. I've been building and programming computers for 15 years, so I'm suprised I haven't figured it out yet.

What is the maximum number of drives you can assign in an NT enviroment? Does it go to AA after you use Z? Or does it go to numbers. I tried to find out myself this weekend by assigning drives using Alcohol 120, but after 26 letters it wouldn't assign any more. But I'm told by my MCSE buddy that you can assign 256, I think he said. He said its in hex, so that would make sense, but I'm still not sure. Does anybody have anything about this?

I know its stupid, but you know how it is not knowing something.

Re: I know this is a dumb question, but....

26 is it in an PATA/SATA enviroment (SCSI enviroment maybe different).

Comment

The question refers to no particular enviroment per se. I just wanted to know what the maximum number of drives Windows can recognize. After you use all the letters, ie A, C, D, etc, what does Windows do next? Double letters? What I'm thinking of doing is seting up a network of 10 computers each with 2 sata hard drives installed in addition to the typical cd-rom and fdd. I don't want to set up all these computers just to find that I can't access all my drives.

I'm somewhat new to the interior workings of Windows, I've always used Unix, and more recently Linux. With the Unix labeling system, I never had to wonder about this problem before, but I've decided to set up a bunch of Windows computers to run a Fazues server. I want it to distribute files in a Bittorrent like manner, which is why I'm not using just one server with a big ass RAID 0/1 setup.

Comment

A & B are always reserved for floppy drives then C to Z for others and that's the limit, there is no more.

Comment