disgruntled hp owner

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• disgruntled hp owner

hi all. this ismy 1st time posting. i have issues w/my hp m380n. it has a ASUS P4SD-LA mobo. pent 4HT 3.2ghz w/800mhz fsb. 2gb's of pci 3200 kingston hyperx ram rnng in dual channle mode. video card is radeon 256mb agp 800xl. trbl is i tested w/3dmark05 & scored really low. results also showed fsb is only 200mhz. is this accurate info? what gives? is this something i can or need 2 adjust? also i read post by adverse w/similar prob w/his mobo. something about his agp aperture wont go above 64. how do i check 2 c what mine is @ currently? any help would b greatly appreciated as i am a total noob. thanx in advance people
    Last edited by mangle-u; 10-28-2005, 08:17 PM.

Re: disgruntled hp owner

First off, most of the folks who stop by here would be disgruntled with an HP machine. They generally use lower-end components, make at least some of them proprietary so they aren't industry standard (forcing you to go back to HP for component upgrades) and they neuter the BIOS to make overclocking next to impossible. *pant pant*
    [steps off soapbox]

When you say you "scored really low", just how low are you talking about? My mind-reading skills are a bit rusty so I can't help you with any potential problems without first seeing if a problem even exists.

As to the FSB setting, this would be correct. Remember that the Intel processors have the ability to quad the FSB for internal processing speeds. 200FSB x 4 = 800MHz processor.

Regarding the AGP aperture, I don't know if you can get deep enough into your BIOS to check it out there or if you can even make adjustments to it. You can, however, download something along the lines of SiSoft Sandra. This utility can tell you a lot about your system components and settings as well as run a series of benchmarking tests. Might give it a shot and see how you fare.
    Old age and treachery will overcome youth and skill
    My Toys