No announcement yet.

Building a computer... need some help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a computer... need some help.

I'm planning on building a computer sometime soon. I researched the parts the best I can, but I would still like the opinions of anybody willing to give them. I'm new to building computers, but I have a decent amount of knowledge about computers, so I don't think it will be that big of an issue. I want this system to be a gaming system if that helps. I plan on reading guides on overclocking, that is why I plan on making my system liquid cooled. Also, a reason I picked that power supply is because I want to add lights and such inside the case, and I figured it would make it look better.

Case
    Power Supply
    Processor
    Motherboard
    RAM
    Hard Drive 1
    Hard Drive 2
    Video Card
    Liquid Cooler
    Sound Card
    Speakers

Here are some other things that aren't part of building the computer really, but I was just wondering what people had to say about them.

Mouse
    Keyboard

I also plan on getting Windows XP Pro X64

Thank you all in advance.

Re: Building a computer... need some help.

Thats a monster of a video card! I hope the $60 ASPIRE PSU can handle everything you have planned for the system. I'm a little doubtfull but I've never tried that brand so I can't say forsure.

Comment

I wouldn't go with a dual core for a gaming CPU, Games don't use the extra core yet.

While XMS is good...you can have another gig for cheaper. OCZ has 2-3-2-5 for just over $200 (with rebate). I have mine running 2-2-2-5 @2.8volts for about a year with no problems.

I'm not a big fan of the small water cooling setups, but as long as the customer reviews say good things it should be OK.
      Last edited by matm347; 12-19-2005, 08:13 PM.

Comment