Problems overclocking EP35-DS3?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems overclocking EP35-DS3?

Hi, I just ordered an EP35-DS3 but now I hear that it doesn't overclock very well. Someone on another forum told me he tried "everything" but eventhough he disabled Eist he couldn't get it to remember the OC settings in the BIOS. On the same forum there are people who have managed to overclock with this board but to this day this specific person hasn't.
    I have also heard that this board has problems with SYS_FAN2 en de S3 standby.

All this makes me a bit nervous and I'm wondering if I made a mistake ordering this board. Is there any input you can give me on these subjects? Should I change my order for a P35-DS3R for example or are those not different in that aspect? You see, since I'm new to overclocking I need a board that is relatively easy to do it with..

Thanx!
    Last edited by net_skillz; 04-22-2008, 03:17 PM.

Re: Problems overclocking EP35-DS3?

Some have issues with Sys_2 fan, and some do not. A friend of mine has a DS4 sysfan_2 that does NOTHING. There is a few threads here addressing the issue. It does seem to be a luck of the draw thing. S3 standy I keep suggesting against since I see alot of RMA's due to users trying to keep using it, but I do see tons of people also getting it to work just fine, so that is up to you to attempt as well. With todays boards/CPU's and ram a fresh boot is no slower then a resume anyway, provided you do not have Norton installed!

A DS4 would be a better overclocking board then the DS3 models. The only difference between the two you mention is Intel Raid Chip.