New User / Advice on New Gaming PC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New User / Advice on New Gaming PC

Hello TweakTown Forums! I found your wonderful site today and figure this seems like a good place to frequent since I am just starting on my first computer building experience!

I hope (i checked a bit but wasnt sure) I am not spamming by posting this here but just really don't know where else to ask!

The computer I am building is as follows.

Mother Board : EVGA nForce 750sli
    Processor : Core2Quad 6600 @ 2.44ghz
    Ram : 2gig OCZ Sli ready edition, pc6400 ddr2 800mhz DC
    GFX Card : EVGA nVidia 9800 GTX (512mb)
    HDD : Seagate Baracuda 7200.11 500gb
    Power Supply : Ultra LSP750 (750watt psu)

I was just wondering if this will run L4D @ at a decent rate, and be a competitive gaming unit for the next 3 or 4 years.

Also, since this is my first build what other tools/items would I need? I know I need a CPU fan (currently searching google/tiger direct for suggestiions) but not really sure about anything else. I have a tower already etc etc....

Thanks in advance and also Hello!,
    SG420

Re: New User / Advice on New Gaming PC

Nforce 750I SLI will be outdated very soon, try to get a latest chipset frmo nvidia if u decide to go the SLI route, such as a 780I or 790I if ur budget can extend that far.

ATM a fast dual core wolfdale will be better than the Q6600 in gaming, e.g E8500.

Ram looks good, no problems.

The graphics card doesnt look bad, though ur gona need to replace sooner since its already pretty old by now.

If u dun plan to OC ur cpu, then obviously the stock heatsink is the way to go, or if u just wana show off OR OC ur cpu then buy a better heatsink.

For HDD, 500GB looks ok, though u gota tink about if its gona b enuf for the next 3-4 years. Most ppl nowadays get 750-1000GB.
    Asrock P55-Extreme
    Core I5 @ 3.2GHZ
    2x2GB G.skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600
    ASUS HD5850
    1TB Samsung SATA II
    Corsair TX650W PSU