first time user with ep45 ds3l

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• first time user with ep45 ds3l

hey guys this is my first time building a comp and im gonna get the parts tomorrow. i know how to build the comps but im sort of iffy on setting up the bios and installing vista 64bit. so after i power up my new comp should i update the bios first and then install vista? if so how would i go about doing that. i understand how to use q flash with the floppy drive do i start up the comp with the floppy in? and then after i update the bios do i need to set the voltage and timings of the ram to the specs of the memory? or should i do that after i install vista. and when installing vista i have to set the first priority to the dvd drive right? oh yea and after you flash and then it restarts and then you go back into the bios. and should load fail safe defaults like the qflash pdf manul says? or load optimized defaults
    Last edited by wutsup; 11-06-2008, 01:43 AM. Reason: add more info

Re: first time user with ep45 ds3l

No, you would put the floppy in once you are inside Qflash.

After you flash load optimized defaults then set voltage only, then save and reboot to make all other changes. You will have to set your disk changes again so dont forget them

You can set Floppy as your first boot device (Recommended incase you need to blind flash later) and set OS disk as second boot device and CD as third

Just use F12 to boot from CD

Comment

oh ok thanks for replying. so let me get this straight

1st after i power up my new comp go to bios by psuhing delete.
      then i enter q flash and update with floppy (do i extract all three files that come with the bios update) once done i exit and it should reboot automatically
      then i enter the bios again and load optimized defaults instead of load fail safe defaults?
      then i set the ram voltage to 2.1v in my case (ocz 2x2gb ram 1066mhz) instead of the default 1.8v