Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EP45 DS3R q6600 overclock guidlines

Hi,

managed to get my new system up and running but want to overclock.
    I'd like to overclock to 3ghz but am a total newbie.
    my memory is 2 sticks of 2gb ocz10004gk platinum, I have 1 500gb seagate 3500320as installed but intend to add another. My q6600 is a G0 revisionmodel. And i'm running a QuadroFX 3500.

I need it to be as stable as possible as I intend to use it for video editing.

Any ideas anyone?
    coolermaster cm690 case

CPUcooler : Coolermaster Z600 with 1200rpm fan

Psu: Bequiet 650w darkpower pro (not cheap) w. modular connectors.

Memory: OCZ Platinum Dual Channel OCZ2P10004GK
    (pc2-8000) 4gig

Cpu: q6600
    , SLACR G0

Harddrive(s) : seagate ST3500320as (non affected firmware sd25) 1 installed so far.

GFX: Nvidia Quadrofx 3500 (essential for intended use so this had better not be a problem).

dvdrw: nec-optiarc: model unknown
    floppy drive: sony: model unknown

Re: EP45 DS3R q6600 overclock guidlines

3GHz should be pretty easy on most Q6600 chips, especially the G0. Mine runs 3GHz at stock voltages. Your motherboard isn't going to hold you back, I have the same one.

Here's some general advice before you start. Stability testing is critical. A lot of folks use Prime95 but I prefer a test based on the Intel Linpack benchmark, because it works the CPU harder than Prime95.

Save your settings frequently! The BIOS will let you save up to 8 settings by hitting F11. Name your settings so you can figure out what you've done. When (not if) you hit an unstable setting, you can quickly recover your last stable one by hitting F12.

Be sure you have adequate cooling for your CPU! A quad core throws off a lot of heat when you overclock it.