X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Find the bent pin!

Some info,
    MB: x58-ud3r

Hello, I recently noticed my computer was not using all the available ram. It was using 4/6. First thing I did was update to the latest bios but that just made things worse. Not only did I forget to record my oc settings, but after the update it took 5-10 minutes to boot because of the constant recovering lost dram message. Since the common cause for this type of issue is bent pins I removed my cpu and looked. I saw nothing. Everything looks fine. I am linking some of the pictures I think are okay hoping one of you will see something I'm not. Sadly, I'm not that good at taking pictures.

I'm still researching the other causes for this issue besides the pin.

Thanks!
    Last edited by ant; 11-03-2010, 12:20 AM. Reason: removed outdated url

Re: Find the bent pin!

If everything was working fine until one day out of the blue it was missing ram and nothing was changed from when it saw all the ram I would suspect one two modules are failing. Try removing all ram try each stick 1 at a time then try adding them in one at a time. Could also be a bad slot.

another thing to try is clear bios and loading optimized defaults and see if it sees all the memory.

I personally did not look at every pic but the 2 i looked i couldn't see them LSD has got the eyes for it as he saw some bent in someone else post that i clearly could not see.
    Main Rig
    Gigabyte z87x-OC
    Haswell i7 4770k - 4.7Ghz @ 1.330v LLC Extreme (L310B492)
    G.Skill F3-1700CL9D-8GBXM DDR3-2133mhz 9-11-10-28 1.65v @ 2800mhz 12-14-14-35 1.7v
    Samsung Green 8GB 2x4GB MV-3V4G3D/US DDR3 1.3v 30nn @ 2200Mhz 11-11-11-32 1.60v
    Sapphire ATI HD 7970 3GB clocked 1200MHz @ 1.181v.
    HiS ATI HD 6950
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (boot Drive) on Intel sata3 controller port0
    Corsair Force GT 120 GB Sata3 SSD on Intel sata3 controller port1