GA-X58A-UD3R + intel i7 950 idle high, run hot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GA-X58A-UD3R + intel i7 950 idle high, run hot

I just recently purchased a new machine and have been experiencing high temps (I think). I'm not really technically inclined when it comes to specifics but I know my way around a computer well enough to get by. I have the x58 ud3r board with an i7 950, corsair H60 water cooling with an additional cooler master 120mm fan attached, Haf X case with both 200mm fans on top, and NZXT sensor. Not sure if graphics cards matter but 2 GTX 560 ti as well. When I first start up my computer it'll idle anywhere from 35-45 and as soon as I start running anything it gradually heats up to ~50-55, depending on what I'm running close to 60. I havn't let it get over 60 yet so I don't really know how high it actually goes.

Now I actually started out initially with only the 1 200mm fan on the top (back), and no cooler master fan on the other side of the H60. But the temperatures remain unchanged since adding the extra 2 fans. All other sensors including the graphics cards, RAM, and storage devices stay pretty low with the graphics cards so far peaking at 35. I've looked around a little bit and people look to run at 40-45 after hours where I get almost 60 temps after 20 minutes. All fans are working fine.

Re: GA-X58A-UD3R + intel i7 950 idle high, run hot

Have you tried remounting the H60? You have to use just enough thermal compound to little or to much is not good. Also make sure you have it tightened enought but not overtight.

It is suggested not to let core temps go above 80c loaded for 24/7 use.

Also what is your room temp? this will affect temps also.

The H60 is a good Entry level water cooling unit, it is not a full custom water cooling so temps wont be as great as others who are water cooling.

If you have not already set up the H60 with Push/Pull fan setup.
    Main Rig
    Gigabyte z87x-OC