Proper way to upgrade my X79 Extreme 9 to windows 8

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Proper way to upgrade my X79 Extreme 9 to windows 8

On the Downloads page of this motherboard there are numerous files to download. Could you please tell me how I do each one these and is there a proper order besides doing the oldest first? Which ones should I NOT do now? Also, do I put these all on one USB drive or do I need a separate USB drive for each one? I have never done this before so need your guidance.
    Last edited by funpilot; 02-03-2013, 08:12 AM.

Re: Proper way to upgrade my X79 Extreme 9 to windows 8

I checked the Asrock website and I did not find any duplicate drivers for Win8 64. It looks like the most recent driver version for for each of the functions was uploaded there. Example CIR receiver driver ver:2.5.1003, Game Blaster audio driver ver:6.0.101.0038 and so on.

What I would recommend you is to first install Windows 8 and then check to see if there are any unrecognized entries (HW) in the device manager. You can identify them easily because they have a yellow question mark next to the name. If you have any, you can then download the driver from the website and that's it.

P.S. I guess that you already know that you can use the old Windows 7 tool to make a bootable USB drive for Win8 as well, right? I'm saying this because I saw a couple of dudes asking this around here a week ago.

Good luck! :)

Comment

Windows 8 provides many more drivers than Windows 7, I only had to load a few platform required drivers and software, platform meaning an Intel or AMD system.

You need to decide which features on the board you actually will use, if you don't use something why install its software? You can always do that later. If you want to have every last feature active, then you'll need any driver that Windows 8 does not provide. For example, I did not need to install the Intel USB 3.0 driver, Windows 8 had it or automatically installed it.