No announcement yet.

Need help building dream machine......

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help building dream machine......

I'm wanting to build a bad ass system for gaming and making digital graphics. (mainly using Unreal Tournament 2003, Adobe photoshop, Illustrator, ect.). I am considering a AMD dual processor system with a watercooler. If you had unlimited funds to build a spetacular system of your dreams tell me how far you would go. If anybody has any suggestions or advice please email me. About anything Cases, Mobo's, CPU's, Videocards, Cooling systems, ect. Thank you all that can help. : peace: : peace:

Unless you're dead set on an AMD rig, then at this time I would probably go with an Intel system. They have the power and then some right now that AMD can't touch. And before you start bagging me for being a biased Intel fan, it might help you to know that I've been using AMD processors exclusively for nearly two years now. Things may change when the vaunted Hammer hits the streets, but this isn't the case now. Intel will give you the better power user performance, and since you say that money is no object in your project, then this point becomes a no-brainer. The 3GHz processors with Hyper-Threading are the way to go if you can find them in stock somewhere.

Now, onto motherboards. Not too long ago, the best performance for any amount of money came from the i850 chipsets paired with RDRAM1066 memory. But then a little thing hit the market called "Granite Bay" and set the whole performance scale on its ear. The Granite Bay chipset allows you to use standard DDR RAM modules in pairs to create a true dual channel memory pipeline. Mainboards based on this chipset have been matching and in some cases beating the i850 boards using the faster (and much more expensive) RDRAM modules.