Webcam Freezing in XP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Webcam Freezing in XP

I've been using dual boot setup Win98 / XP for about 3 months now. My Intel webcam worked perfectly in both OS but the last month my cam quit working in XP. Once I start a video conference in Net Meeting my video is fine but with in 30 seconds to 5 mins my video freezes and anything I have open that relies on my internet hangs. Then NM automatically shuts down. I've tried other video conferencing programs and my cam freezes in all of them. What's weird is that cam works perfectly in Win98 partition.

I have installed the latest drivers for my webcam, sound card, video card, modem so I know it's not a driver problem. In device manger all looks good. I checked my IRQ #'s and noticed my dial up modem and USB Universal Host Controller both share IRQ#5. I tend to believe it's an IRQ conflict. I tried disabling my unused COM 1 port in BIOS but that did not help, the modem and USB hub moved to a different IRQ which they continued to share once again. After a reboot they both went back to #5. Through much research I've learned it's about impossible to manually switch IRQ #'s in XP. I've heard that moving cards around inside computer really doesn't work either in XP. I am at a loss what to do to fix this problem. This is the only incompatability issue I'm facing with XP. If its an IRQ issue then buying a new cam probably won't fix it either. I'd really appreciate it if someone could help me fix this problem.

Thanks,