AGP Aperture, yah, I'm a newb

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AGP Aperture, yah, I'm a newb

Hey, I just have a quick question about AGP. In my BIOS (I have a Dell 8200 with an Intel, the BIOS are REALLY limited, so no overclocking :cry: ). In the settings, I can change somethin called the AGP Aperture from 32mb, to 64mb, to 128mb, to 256mb. does this correspong to AGP 1x, 2x, and 4x? I'm confused. its at 128mb right now, if 256mb will give me more speed, and its safe, I'd like to go and change it to that. Can someone give me some info on this? thx for any help. Mista K6

It is a setting that tells the sustem how much of your system memory may be allocated for use by the AGP port of your motherboard. The rule of thumb for this setting used to be 1/2 of your system memory, but if you just set it to 128MB then you'll have the best overall performance for this item.

Oh, and it does not have anything to do with the AGP speed factor. :)
    Old age and treachery will overcome youth and skill
    My Toys

Comment

It also doesn't have anything to do with overclocking.

Comment

With modern video cards, having a high apature size can (and will) actually decrease performance. I honestly, wouldn't set it any higher than 1/4 of the amount of physical ram you have in your system, and only that much if it does not exceed 1/2 the video ram on your video card (providing it's something new (or rather, no more than a year old)).

Comment

Originally posted by Suicide
          With modern video cards, having a high apature size can (and will) actually decrease performance. I honestly, wouldn't set it any higher than 1/4 of the amount of physical ram you have in your system, and only that much if it does not exceed 1/2 the video ram on your video card (providing it's something new (or rather, no more than a year old)).
          :blah: :rofl: