Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Building new PC

Default Building new PC

Although I have built a PC in the past it was several years ago with a little help (or a lot depending on which one of us you ask) from a friend. I am currently considering building another PC as it seems I have become addicted to....I mean interested in PC gaming. I'm considering an AMD Athlon with an ASUS SLI equipped mother board. My question at this point has to do with the numbering conventions of the AMD Athlon processors (i.e. 3000+, 35000+, 4000+, etc). What do these numbers mean? Is it a comparison of AMD with comparable Intel procesors? If I make a decision for a processor based completely on clock speed (I know enough to know that this would be stupid), it would seem that Intel beats AMD hands down. I apologize for what may seem to be a very simple question to many of you, but I am new to the do-it-yourself PC building world. There will be more questions in the future I am sure and any insight that anyone can give would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Building new PC

The model number system is, well, irrelevant. A higher number on the same kind of processor means it's more powerful. Don't try to compare it to Intel processors or to different kind of AMD processors (socket 754 Athlon 64s, Athlon XPs, etc.) Athlon 64s are more powerful than their Intel counterparts in almost everything, especially gaming, but I think you already know that an Athlon 64 is a better choice.
    To expand on not comparing the numbers to other CPUs:
    Athlon 64 3000 Newcastle (socket 754 2GHz 512KB L2 cache single-channel RAM)
    Athlon 64 3000 Clawhammer (socket 755 1.8GHz 1MB L2 cache single-channel RAM)
    Athlon 64 3000 Venice (socket 939 1.8GHz 512KB L2 acche dual-channel RAM SSE3)
    Athlon 64 3000 Winchester (socket 939 1.8GHz 512KB L2 cache dual-channel RAM