Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: oc: yes or no

Question oc: yes or no

Dear Forum users,
    I am a senior researcher in bioinorganic chemistry. As a part of research my group is involved in computer chemistry (quantum mechanics and molecular dynamics). So far we worked on single workstation equiped with intel P4 3.0GHz. Through the time our demands were getting bigger, and today we purchased two identical machines to make a small cluster for parallel computing:
    "MB: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P
    CPU: Intel Core2Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz
    RAM: 4 x 1GB DDR2 Transcend PC800
    Optics: Pioneer 112D
    HDD: 160GB WD SATA2 8mb
    Video: Asus EN6200TC 256mb
    Power: Chieftec 550w
    Case: Chieftec CH-03P-A-OP"

I wish to kindly ask you for opinion about overclocking the system: Whats the values that I should change (any manual for oc?) or its a better to use default overclocking (5 ways inside C.I.A.2. option for this mother board)?; Is it safe for cpu, mb and memories if I overclocked system up to no more than 3.0GHz?; What would You suggest for our system which we intent to use as a small cluster build up of these two machines.
    Sorry for such a long story.

Thanks to all of you willing to help.
    Zoran

web-site: http://www.pmf.kg.ac.yu/~zmatovic/index.htm
    Last edited by zmatovic; 09-26-2007 at 12:35 AM.

Default Re: oc: yes or no

As a general rule, I stay away from overclocking any of my work machines. The primary reason is warranties. If you feel secure with possibly having the warranty voided on your machine, then go for it.
    Old age and treachery will overcome youth and skill
    My Toys

Provided that warranty issues are of no concern then I'd just raise the FSB manually to 333MHz with a 9x multiplier to give you 3.0GHz.