Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: RAID 0 with 160 GB Drives

this is my first attempt at RAID, so I could use some help

first of all, how to I go about setting it up? I've got an older (about 1 yr old) raid card that I'm going to be using in a PIII system with two WD 160 GB SE drives

second of all, how do I get around the 137.4 GB barrier? the two drives both came with new ata100 controler cards with drivers to get around this, but I'm not planning on using them since I'm going for a raid setup

can I use my main system (see sig - the newer board and bios should be able to see the full 160 gigs) to partion the drives (2 80 gig partions each) and then insert them into the older pIII system with the raid controller card? and how do I partion/format drives for raid 0?

I hate sounding like a noob, but I've never had an oportunity to setup raid before

pIII system specs:
    Pentium III socket 370 933 Mhz @ 1001 Mhz (BIOS 1009)
    ASUS CUSL2-C
    512 Crucial PC133 (max the mobo will allow)
    Volcano 6+ Cu
    PNY GeForce4 MX 440
    Maxtor 40 GB 7200
    Maxotr 20 GB 5200
    Adaptec SCSI controller Card
    Siig Ultra ATA 100 controler card
    D-Link NIC
    Belin USB2.0 4-port
    Siig 1394 3-port
    Plextor 12/10/32 CD-RW
    Toshiba DVD-ROM
    Iomega Zip100
    Antec 300W PSU
    Generic Floppy
    WinXP SP1

i know that is more info than you need on the hardware, but I figured I'd be complete

more than likely both of the WD HDD's will get moved to a Mac within 6 months, but for know it's going into this old pIII

*in doing a more carefull analysis of the hardware I realised that the ata controller card is not RAID...so I'll either have to purchase a new RAID card or get a pair of SATA converters and put these fine HDD's in my own system until the Mac is purchased
    I've gone too far and need to move on!