Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Windows XP Install - Can't Format New SATA Drive - Help!

I bought a bare Hitachi 80GB SATA drive and put it in my computer. I've never used SATA before. I want to install Windows XP on the SATA and then I have a CDRW set as master on IDE2 and a DVD as Slave on IDE2. I've set it to Native, P-ATA & S-ATA, Both are Enabled. When I boot from my Windows XP CD and attempt to partition the hard drive, its gets about 20% complete and then gives this error. First I did the regular format and it actually got to 97% before giving this error. Quick only gets to 20%

Setup was unable to format the partition. The disk may be damaged.

Make sure the drive is switched on and properly connected to your computer. If the disk is a SCSI disk, make sure your SCSI devices are properly terminated. Consult your computer manual or SCSI adapter documentation for more information.

You must select a different partition for Windows XP.
    To continue, press ENTER.
    After clicking enter I see that it has created a new partition.
    C: Partition 1 [New (Raw) ] 78521MB
    Unpartitioned space 8MB

If I try to install on Partition 1 I get an error.

An error occurred while Setup was updating partition information on:

78529 MB Disk 0 at Id 0 on bus 0 on atapi [MBR]
    Any ideas?

did you load sata drivers when you first booted off the winXP cd?
    I've gone too far and need to move on!

When the Windows install starts ya need to when promted to press the F6 for loadin' the drivers for the SATA controller. It will come up as SCSI drivers but any non-native ATA controllers will need the drivers for it loaded at this stage (SCSI, SATA, RAID or additional ATA controllers).

Beefy Guest

Actually, it sounds as though he's already managed that guys.. :) If he can get XP to start installing, then it's picked up a drive somewhere...