Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: looking at a new purchase: SATA drives

hey guys, time has come again to get some more bits and pieces.
    i am running out of space (1x 80gb wd 8mb and a 40gb wd 2mb), and since i have a SATA raid controller onboard i was thinking of getting 2x SATA instead of 2x PATA and a controller card.

current setup:
    Primary Master: 80gb Western Digital 8mb 7200
    Primary Slave: 80gb Western Digital 2mb 7200
    Secondary Master: Liteon 40x12x48
    Secondary Slave: Sony 16x DVD tray.

ok im kinda new to the SATA scene so here are some HDD combinations:

2x 120gb WD 8mb, setup in Raid 0 or 1.
    or
    1x Raptor 36gb, and a 120gb WB 8mb, no raid.

i was thinking the Raptor to use as my windows/programs/games etc, for speed? would it be worth it or not? the 120gb's are about $155 AU and the raptor 36gb is about $170AU. i am willing to spend that little extra to get a raptor but im not sure if its worth it. im also planning on getting some rounded ATA cables to free up some airflow; replacing the ribbon ones. ($20 for rounded)...have i got the right idea here? or any others?
    i do alot of photo editing, movies encoding sometimes and constantly moving stuff around. Another thing is if i do get 2x WD 120gbs in Raid 0, is it likely that they will fail? i do not want to lose 240gb worth of files.....i move my comp around probably 20 times/yr.

:cheers:
    MSN Messenger - handy481@hotmail.com
    DC++ - handy481 :: Sweden Xperience :: BootCamp 02 :: Revolution xShare 01 :: Mp3Heaven

1x Raptor 36gb, and a 120gb WB 8mb, no raid.