Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Radeon 9700 Pro Problem

Ok, so I finally finishe building my system. Here are the specs:

AMD Athlon XP 2700+
    Asus A7V8X DDR 400
    512 MB Kingston PC3200
    2x 120 GB WD HDD 8MB Cache
    Radeon 9700 Pro
    Pioneer 106-S DVD-ROM
    Philips 24x12x40 CD-RW

Most of my other peripherals are onboard, such as sound and LAN and gameport, etc., so the Radeon is the only card plugged into the mobo. The Radeon was the last remaining piece, so I was running a Geforce 2 MX while I waited for the Radeon to arrrive. When I put it together and tested with 3dMark03, It was at 4859 Marks. Then I actually started playing games with it.

I got all the way through Unreal 2, and it locked up maybe 3 times. I played a Tony Hawk 4 demo and it locked up once and then after I started playing again, the whole system powered down. Now I'm attempting the new Breed demo, and it locks up around 1-2 minutes into the game.

Now, what I'd like to hear is that my 400W Powmax PSU is a piece of crap, and replacing it with, say, an Antec 430W PSU, will solve the problem of locking up in a second. Also, there is the issue of my wanting to throw a blue cold cathode light in my system, as well. However, my one concern has to do with 3dMark03. I can't quite understand why I can run a game/demo at 1024x768x32 and it locks, but when I test my system at 1600x1200x32, repeatedly, it has no problem. I'm worried the problem may be deeper than the power supply.

Any help anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Did you remove all traces of the Detonator drivers before installin' the R9700P? :?: