Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can I get something good for $950

seeing the thread just below mine offering $ 3000 for a rig really makes me scared and sad too :(
    i just got my savings to the notch of 900 bucks and will be adding 100 bucks by the end of this week or may be next week. i will be needing 50 dollars so that leaves me with just 950. can i get something good in this budget? (btw 1 US Dollar = 1.52952 Aus Dollars, so that gets me to Aus $1453.044.)
    it will be more of a gaming PC with moderate gaming (may be demos of most of the games) but i don't want to OC it cos we run around 51 degree celcius in summers and i don't want to bake it untill i get a really good heat sink. also if anyone wants to suggest AMD then please couple it with a good heat sink (you just saw the temp :p ).
    most of you guys know that i am not very good with hardware, so please suggest me something guys.
    another thing is that i will be needing 2 HD's cos i wanna dual boot to XP and Linux (my new fav) and i don't want both of them to be sitting together on same HD.

thanx for any suggestions :cheers:
    Latest Microsoft Security Updates.
    Last Updated:
    10th MARCH

If you are a security freak: Use Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer (NT/2000/XP/2003)
    ======================
    jabber : asklepios20@jabber.org
    =======================
    Linux user since: April 24, 2003 312478
    yabaa dabaa doo...
    Customized for 1024x768

I'm not sure what ya got now, but I can say that you might wanna look into an nForce 2 board, like the 8RDA+. It's fairly cheap, running around $80 here in the US, so roughly $140AUD. That also covers your LAN and give you one of the best sound solutions available.