Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Newbie(ish) help building system

Right - the time has come to buy a new PC and I thought I'd build my own. Trouble is, I've had plenty of experience building PC's and not a hell of a lot at actually choosing the components.

After a whole load of browsing these forums, hardware reviews etc I think i've sorted out a spec. However I would vastly appreciate some advice from the experts regarding it.

Are the components (or combination of) good/bad?
    Are there cheaper alternatives that are just as good (or better)?
    Am I going to stumble into some incompatibility issues?
    Any other advice?

On particular question is the issue of 64 3200+ and 64 3000+. The only difference as far as I'm aware is the amount of l2 cache. Is this worth the additional price or am I only going to get a marginal performance increase out of it.

Noise is an issue but then so is price. Ideally around the 1500 mark (The following spec is slightly more than that). I'm not planning on o/cing it but I want the option of being able to do so if I decide to.

One final question. Has anyone had any dealings with overclock.co.uk since most of the components are coming from there (MB, HSF and Memory from Dabs) and I'd appreciate a headsup if they're no good.

On to the specs:

Athlon 64 3200+
    Venus 12 HSF
    Gigabyte k8N Pro (nforce 3)
    2xCorsair 512MB PC3200 CL2
    Antec P160 case
    Antec Truepower 430W PSU
    Titan Aerofoil 120mm fan to be front mounted.
    2x Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 80GB SATA HDD (Raid 0)
    Sapphire Radeon 128MB 9800 Pro
    Sony 3.5" Floppy
    Sony CRX230E 52x CDRW
    Sony DDu1612-10 DVD Rom
    NetoDragon 56K Modem
    Viewsonic VP171S
    I-Trigue L3500 2.1 Speakers
    Microsoft cordless optical KB & Mouse
    Windows XP Pro.