Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: need help bulding a pc from scratch

Default need help bulding a pc from scratch

okay im new at all this but i have done alot of research, im looking to spend $3000 on my new computer. i want two top of hte line dvd burners, amd processor, sata hard drives, and atleast a gig of ram, a pci tv tuner card. I had all of the research on a floppy but since xp somehow dosent like a formated 98 floppy even though i stuck the floppy in a xp machine to get the files off, i no longer have it and will retrive the info again in the next few days. but im open for any suggestions i have no clue as to a video card and i would like to have surround sound speakers as part of the 3 grand. im goign to be hooking my cable line (coaxile/antenna/whatever) to the tv tuner pci card so i need to ahve that connection. i want a wireless remote on the speakers. I want this to be a really good gaming pc with alot of multimedia features.
    some parts off the top of my head:
    msi neo2 platinum motherboard
    amd 3800+
    2 maxtor maxline 3 300gb hard drives (sata)
    aver media pc 550 ultra tv tuner pci card

Ill have the more detailed stuff in a few days thanks for hte help in advance
    Last edited by sjones; 10-02-2004 at 03:03 PM.

Default Re: need help bulding a pc from scratch

I'm just going to assume that's $3000 U.S. Most of this stuff will be applicable even if it's not.

Well, there are some nice X800 Pros that have all the features of an AIW, but if you're getting a TV tuner card, that would be silly...
    I'll give you some basic choices. In the end, you may have to look at some benchmarks, because the card you get should be dependant on the games you play. I suggest you read some Anandtech articles. Make sure any articles you read came out after the cards