Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Core i7 system build looking for improvements

Default Core i7 system build looking for improvements

I am configuring a Black Pearl Core i7 system on CyberPower. I Choose the black pearl edition for the 840 case. This is my first time buying a prebuilt system and i am trying to finalize my build. My budget is somewhat flexible

I have already purchased an Acer P243W 24inch monitor so i will be gaming at 1900x200. I Also have Logitech z-5500 5.1 speakers

My current build is as follows:

• CASE: CoolerMaster ATC™S 840 Black Pearl Full Tower Case (Black Color)
    • CPU: Intel® Core™2 i7-940 2.93 GHz 8M L3 Cache
    • MOTHERBOARD: Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58 Chipset SLI/CrossFireX Mainboard SAS Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 SATA RAID w/ eSATA, Dual GbLAN, USB2.0, IEEE1394a, & 7.1Audio
    • MEMORY: (Req.DDR3 MainBoard) 3GB (1GBx3) DDR3/1800MHz Memory Module OCZ-Platinum
    • VIDEO CARD: ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express Dual DVI-I & TVO (Major Brand Powered by ATI)
    • VIDEO CARD 2: NONE
    • VIDEO CARD 3: NONE
    • LCD Monitor: NONE
    • HARD DRIVE: Single Hard Drive (150GB Gaming Western Digital Raptor 10, 000RPM SATA150 16MB Cache WD1500ADFD)
    • Data Hard Drive: 1TB (1TBx1) SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 32MB Cache 7200RPM Hard Drive
    • Optical Drive: Sony Optiarc BR-5100S 2X Blu-Ray Player (Black Color)
    • Optical Drive 2: (Special Price) LG 20X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW DRIVE DUAL LAYER (BLACK COLOR)
    • SOUND: Creative Labs X-Fi 24-BIT PCI Sound Card

PSU: 1000 Watts Coolermaster

This comes out to $ 2,541 without peripherals or shipping.

I have the choice of the Asus P6T a eVGA x58 or an MSI x58 platinum. I am having trouble tellingthe pro's and cons of each. I would like having the option of going Nvidi or ATI in the future but it looks like they all have dual licenses. Which would be a better choice for this build?