Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: need advice on building new amd machine

Default need advice on building new amd machine

BUDGET RANGE: $500-$800 Before / After Rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: vmware, pinnacle studio, adobe photoshop, dreamweaver, ms visual studio, internet, movies. A lot of multitasking and very little gaming.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: speakers, OS

PARTS PREFERENCES: i would prefer to use amd 955 cpu and 785g amd3 mobo

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: i am thinking of building AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz with 785g amd3 mobo. The reason I chose this mobo because it has an onboard graphic card. since i don't play lot of games, i don't want to spend a lot of money on graphic card.

i am a computer networking student. i will be using this computer for school work. i do a lot of multitasking and will be installing virtual machine on this computer. i prefer mid tower case with side panel window (i love to see the components while they are running! LOL). one more thing about the ram, should i go with 4gb or 6gb? it would be good be if this machine will cost me less than $700. hope you guys can give suggestions and advice.

thanks in advance!

Default Re: need advice on building new amd machine

Core i5
    P55A-UD3P
    4GB (or 8GB) DDR 1333
    Radeon HD4890 1GB (or HD 5870 if you can afford)
    For other components, it depends on your remaining budget.
    (low-cost rig :)
    Core i5 750 (Stock speed, Turbo Boost enabled)
    Gigabyte P55-UD3P (F3 BIOS)
    Powercolor PCS HD4850 1GB (idle temp: 46C, load @ 61C, with additional chassis fan, load @ 52C )
    AData 2 x 2GB DDR3 1333
    Philips Brilliance 230CI 23" Full HD
    Windows 7 Ult / Ubuntu Karmic 64-bit