Hi there, I'm new to the forums and PC building. I'm a professional audio editor and am interested in building a new PC for dialogue editing and audio mastering. I primarily use Cool Edit Pro, Adobe Audition 3 and ProTools LE.I'm going to be building this system with a mind to run Windows XP Pro. I've tried running Cool edit on Windows 7, and while it works for the most part there are a few dealbreaker bugs. Windows 7 Professional XP mode might help that but I haven't tested it as yet. Anyhow, I don't do much gaming. My current system has a Raedon x600 with 256 or something and runs GTA San Andreas fine for my purposes on the rare occasion I have time for that kind of stuff. Occasionally, I edit and mix sound for movies on ProTools and need to watch Quicktime in sync with the sound.

I'd like to accomplish a lot of speed with processing compression and noise reduction scripts and I'd like to be able to, for example edit on cool edit, process on adobe audition and burn a cd at the same time without error or lag. I have no idea if that is possible.

Important to me is my ECHO Gina PCI card and breakout box which I use for my headphones and monitors.

Extremely important to me is a quiet PC.

Here are my two build ideas:

i7 920 Build:

Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80601920 -

ASUS P6X58D Premium LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard -

OCZ Gold 12GB (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

(I really like the idea of USB 3.0 and ultra fast SATA drives in the future.

i7 860 Build:

Intel Core i7-860 Lynnfield 2.8GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor

ASUS P7P55D LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX8GX3M4A1600C9

(Is this a better bet over 1366 socket due to stability?)

For both systems, I chose the following:

A supposedly quiet case

Antec P183

monitor