Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: 300 to spend on MOB/Cpu

Hey all,

Just wondering I'm kinda new to building a PC and just wondered what the best MOB/Cpu I could get for 300ish (GBPounds). Mainly use the pc for games so dont need Raid and dont realy need any on board stuff as have SB audigy.

Thanks

Matt

I am from the US and not familiar with prices and availability in your country. I am sure that an Athlon rig would still give you "the most bang for the buck" as we say here.

I dont live at the North Pole or anything! I'm sure we can get just about anything in England as in the US. Maybe slightly more expensive so say I have about $400-450. :)

For US$400 you could pretty much get whatever you wanted, if that is JUST CPU and MB. For about $250 you can get an Epox 8K5A2+ ($130 for onboard LAN, audio, Raid) and an XP1600+ ($60) and another $50 bucks on a good HSF and overclock it. For about $300 you could get the MB and a retail XP2200+ processor and not worry about overclocking. What the heck, you could over clock that as well, just get a good HSF and get the OEM version of the processor (about $15 cheaper than the retail version). :hammer:
    Have you hugged a Midget today?