Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help building a new gaming computer

Default Need help building a new gaming computer

My previous desktop died on me and I would like build a decent gaming computer (cause its cheaper to build than buy) and would like some advice on whether the parts I choose are fine. My primary use would be gaming (average gamer), and perhaps some light video editing.

I am a noob with all these computer parts but after some research, have decided to get something like (open to suggestions):

CPU: i5-3470
    Mobo: H77/Z77 chipset
    GPU: GTX 650 Ti (minimum)
    500 GB HDD, 64/128GB SSD
    20-22" Monitor
    PSU: not sure how much power supply I need but perhaps 550-625w (80+ Bronze) is enough?
    Case: Not good with cases :/

I'm not too sure the difference for each part for individual retailers (e.g. AsRock, Gigabyte) but I see there are different variations for the same part so advice on which brand I should get will be a great help. Also those parts I named are just a rough idea so opinions on what I should switch them with are also welcome! (hopefully not too expensive compared to what I have picked as I am on a budget). Just a note, I would prefer if ASUS is left out of my options as I have recently a very bad experience with them.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Default Re: Need help building a new gaming computer

not waiting for haswell? due june

something like a z77 d3h motherboard and an xfx 650 psu,8gb of Samsung green memory and a 7850 or a 7870xt graphic card?

cpu could be a 3750k?
    Gigabyte z77x UP4-TH F11c Modded Bios
    Intel i7 3770k 24/7@4.8ghz 1.38v Turbo llc +0.165v dvid multithreading enabled
    Samsung Green(MV-3V4G3D/US) 8GB @2133mhz 9-10-10-21-1t 1.55v
    Thermalright Silver Arrow Cpu Cooler
    1xSamsung 840 pro 256 Gb SSD windows 8.1 pro 64bit