I've been gifting my dad with gift cards for new egg for a couple years now...with the intention of having him save them up so we can collaborate on his next pc. The time has come (roughly $800 in gift cards)...and I've been doing a good amount of research. Im simply looking for advice and opinions on what I've come up with so far.

Build 1:
CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K
Mobo: Gigabyte Ga Z77x UD5H
HDD: WD Caviar black 1 tb 7200rpm
SSD: Samsung 840pro 128gb
GPU: gigabyte gtx 660 oc 2 gb
Memory:4x4gb corsair vengence
Case: Corsair Carbide 200r
PSU: Corsair cx500m
Monitor: 24 inch TN BenQ XL2411T
Optical: Asus BluRay reader DVD/CD writer

Build 2:
CPU: Intel Core i7-3820 with CM hyper EVO 212
(I went with this cpu because its on the low end of the socket 2011, which has more future options than build 1 and should be just as fast)
Mobo: Gigabyte GA X79 UP4
HDD: WD Caviar black 1 tb 7200rpm
SSD: Samsung 840pro 128gb
GPU: Gigabyte gtx660 oc 2 gb
Memory: 4x4gb corsair vengence
Case: Corsair Carbide 200R
PSU: Corsair cx500m
Monitor: 24 inch TN BenQ XL2411T
Optical: Asus BluRay reader DVD/CD writer