Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Set up Apache Web Server on Windows XP

Ok ive got a situation. My university has web space that im currently hosting my website on. The problem is that i just moved off campus into my own apartment and i only have 1 semester until they cancel my account. I could always use Comcast to host my site but i would rather just use my own pc. I was thinking about installing apache web server but i dont know much about it.

So my questions are,

(1)how do i go about installing apache on my computer (windows xp pro) i realize that its a little more complicated than just running a setup program.

(2)how do i go about getting a domain? Im a poor college student so the cheaper the better.

(3)I also want to use PHP so if it doesnt already come with apache how do i install this to work with apache?

Thanks.:geek:

I have absolutely no clue how to do any of the above mentioned. But, isn't apache limited to Linux/Unix systems?

there are plenty of hosting companies on the web, and some of them offer limited free account

onestop.net offers 10 MB of web space, and as you can see by checking my sig, the ad banner is very small

but as for appache, I can't help you, as i don't have any experience with it
    I've gone too far and need to move on!

I was sort of trying to stay away from those "free" accounts with places like angelfire, geocities, tripod, and whatever else was used back in the days when AOL proggies were cool.... I need a lot more space than 10mb, no required popups or ads, and i am really hoping to get something that offers PHP. I also want my own domain. Ive heard of something called IIS... I have never used it before but i hear it works similar to Apache. Is this worth looking into?