Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cannot delete certain folders in Win XP

Strange thing I've come across. I've noticed that I have a bunch of folders in Program Files that are completely empty (with Hidden Files visible), yet I can't delete them. I can't ascertain exactly what they're for as well, but when I try to delete them, some say that they are in use by another user, others say that access is denied. I try to change them to be non-read-only, but whenever I try, it always gets set back to read-only. I have no knowledge of putting them there in the first place, which is also somewhat strange.

Here's a list of the folders - all of them empty.
    • microsoft frontpage
    • NavNT
    • Windows NT
    • xerox
    • MSXML 4.0

Like I've said, they seem to have no importance, yet I cannot delete them, and they're all stuck on read-only.

Any help would be appreciated.
    This is where my signature would go had my host not been such a Bandwidth Nazi.

The folders are empty, but they probably have hidden files in them.
    CPU: Opteron 165 @ 311x9 - 2817.8 mhz - 1.47v
    Mobo: Abit KN8-SLI
    RAM: 2x512 Crucial Ballistic Tracers500 @ 202 mhz 2-2-2-5 T1
    GFX: Asus EAX1950pro @ 648/1408
    PSU: Thermaltake 500w
    SC: Audigy 2 zs
    LCD: 22' Samsung 225bw
    Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia 5.1 Ultra
    Mouse: Logitech G5

*sigh*

As I said above, I have (and always) set Windows Explorer to display hidden files.

they are probably part of the windows system itself.
    MSN Messenger - handy481@hotmail.com
    DC++ - handy481 :: Sweden Xperience :: BootCamp 02 :: Revolution xShare 01 :: Mp3Heaven