Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Windows XP Pro problem - where's Microsoft Word gone?

Default Windows XP Pro problem - where's Microsoft Word gone?

Hi Everyone,
    I am still learning when it comes to PC so I hope someone will be able to help me.

I have recently just reformatted my HDD and installed Windows XP Pro (which is what I previously had as my OS) everything appears to have gone well - but I have just noticed that I seem to be missing certain Windows programs/applications such as Microsoft Word and MS Paint etc. The files that I have copied across which were once Microsoft Word Documents are now "WordPad Documents" - I have no idea what that means though.

Can Someone please tell me how I can get all the Microsoft applications such as Office, Word and Paint - back?

Default Re: Windows XP Pro problem - where's Microsoft Word gone?

MS Office isn't built into Windows, so you'll have to reinstall it. MS Paint is, so it should be there unless you don't know how to find it.

Smile Re: Windows XP Pro problem - where's Microsoft Word gone?

Hi Yawgm0th!
    Thanks for your message, it was you who helped me last time I was here :)

I thought every Windows XP version came with Microsoft Word etc built in - but obviously I was wrong! Please could you tell me how I can get all these extra applications like Excel, Office etc. Does 'Microsoft Office' have anything to do with it?
    Many thanks in advance and Happy Christmas

btw I found Microsoft Paint...
    Last edited by raptor83; 12-20-2005 at 10:34 AM.

WinXP is nothing more than the operating system. Office comes in several different falvors and can include Word, Excel, Access, PowerPoint and Publisher. As a side note, you'll need to install Office 2000 or higher to gain access to the spell checking features in Outlook Express. Office97 and earlier aren't compatible.