Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: Windows XP themes

Default Windows XP themes

OK have downloaded a couple of themes for windows xp and i apply them. but after i reboot they are gone. i contunually have to reapply them. how do you make the stay on even after boot. Also what are some of your favorite themes and where can i get them. For Free of course.

Thanks

Default Re: Windows XP themes

Which software are you using to apply your themes? Are you using Neowin's UXtheme patch?

My favourite skin right now is Longhorn by -Kol. It was taken down on DeviantArt by Microsoft, but I can upload it on rapidshare if you want

Well i really didn't know what to use. I have the free version of skinstudio to apply them. I will try uxtheme and see if i can get that to work.

thanks

Ah, I've never used SkinStudio before, but the UXtheme patch by Neowin works splendid on my computer. You can pick it up here: http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=140707

Good Luck

ok, well i got Neowin's UXtheme patch. I unzipped it and did the patch. now, how do i use it?

Heheh Good thing I wrote a mini-step by step tutorial on Xtreme Systems forums a day ago. Here's the quote of it:

So, if you want to get that uxtheme.dll of yours patched, get the Neowin UXTheme Multi-Patcher v4.0, here or here. Once you download that little .zip, open it up and execute 'UXTheme Multi-Patcher (Neowin Edition) 4.0.exe'. Usually, after that is done, you should be greeted by this window:

If you are greeted with this window:

Go to your C:\WINDOWS (C or any hard drive letter where your OS is installed) and rename the folder 'I386' to something else, such as 'I386 1'

Anyway, once you get the first window, just click patch and continue the installation. Once the installation is done, you should be prompted to restart the computer. Well, go and restart it lol.